Golf Classic

Killarney Athletic A.F.C. 19th Annual Golf Classic.
Despite bouts of heavy rain, the 19th Annual Golf Classic, in association with main sponsor Monex, went off very well on Saturday last. The Beaufort course withstood the trying elements and with Amanda and Lorraine Fleming looking after refreshments at the 11th tee box, the competition was keen. Refreshments continued at the prize-giving which took place in the sponsor Scotts’ Snug where the prizes of three balls at Doonbeg, Cork, Blarney and Beaufort were distributed as follows:
1st: O’ Neills’ Fishing Tackle. Neil Kiely, Martin Driver and back from the States, Denis Nash (56 points). 2nd: Pat Nagle /Deirdre’s Fashions. Pat Nagle, Christy Sheehan and Pete O’Sullivan (53 points). 3rd: O’Donoghue Ring Hotels. Michael O’Donoghue, Patsy O’Donoghue and Denis McCarthy (53 points). 4th: The Danny Mann. Brian O’Regan, Kieran O’Sullivan and Kevin O’Riordan (52 points). 5th: The Carpet Factory: Timmy Cronin, Stephen O’Neill and Alan Mason (52 points).
Winners of “Nearest to the pin” on the Par 3’s were Ian Howard, Brendan Cronin, Ed Fleming and Ted Healy, while Stephen O’Neill won the “Longest Drive.” Liam Bowles bagged the Fota Island 3 Ball in the raffle.
Particular thanks to Frank Murphy of Monex for his generous sponsorship and to Jo Noonan who represented him at the prize-giving. Extended thanks to all our other sponsors and players – we couldn’t do it without you!
A final thank you to the organising committee of Alan Brady, Michael O’Shea, Paul O’Neill, Denis O’Neill, Brian O’Regan, Tom Tobin, Alan O’Meara, Maurice O’Donoghue, Toirdealbhach Ó Lionáird, Shane Kelly and Patrick Howard. Roll on next year!

This entry was posted on Friday, October 14th, 2011 at 10:10 am and is filed under Club Notes.